Property and construction law

The law firm GIACCARDI & BREZZO Avocats can assist in every step of a real estate project, throughout the construction operations and during the different phases of the life of a property, in particular:

• Project design and financing

• Implementation of contracts for the completion of the building

• Assistance regarding the treatment of difficulties encountered during construction

• Counselling and settlement of disputes relating to condominium

• Counselling and settlement of disputes relating to leases, including the special status of leases for office use and commercial leases

• Follow-up of judicial expertise

• Liability claims before the judicial and administrative courts

• Construction litigation

 

Monegasque property and construction law

The real estate sector holds an important place in the Principality and there is a great demand for property. The attractiveness of Monaco and its limited area are two important factors that define the characteristics of the sector.

There are many transactions and a constant stream of new construction projects, including the extension at sea (urbanization project of 6 hectares), in progress.

These projects, due to Monaco’s size and the geological constraints can be very technical. In this framework, a good knowledge of the regulatory constraints and geotechnical issues is essential.

The requirements of the Environmental Code created by Law No. 1.456 of 12 December 2017 must not be neglected (town planning permission, energy performance of buildings…).

In addition, Law No. 1.446 of 12 June 2017 on the preservation of the national heritage has amended the Ordinance-Law No. 674 of 3 November 1959 on town planning, construction and roadways. In the event of demolition of remarkable built-up elements and alteration of remarkable landscape elements (insalubrity, serious disorder or disaster, development operation in the perimeter of which the building appears), the owner may be forced to rebuild.

With regard to the rental sector, contrary to France, fewer laws are applicable. This allows, in principle, a significant contractual freedom for the assets of the so-called « free sector ».

By contrast, owners of properties in the protected sector must bear some legal constraints. Flats in buildings constructed before 1 September 1947 are governed by law No. 1.235 of 28 December 2000 (modified by law No.1.291 of December 21, 2004) and therefore, the contractual freedom of their owners is significantly diminished.

The lease for office created by Law No. 1.433 of 8 November 2016, which concerns the leasing of premises for the exercise of an intellectual and administrative activity, is a specificity of Monaco. Its regime is autonomous compared to other Monegasque leases (commercial, industrial or artisanal lease, rental lease).

 

Laurent
MICOL

Our related publications

Global Leaders Forum - 2nd Annual Wealth Management Forum

10-11/09/2019 (London) With the participation of Patricia KEMAYOU MENGUE. Event for corporate executives, regulators, legal professionals and business advisors. More information...

Eurojuris International Congress 2018

18/21 October 2018 (Dubai) With the participation of Patricia KEMAYOU MENGUE. More Real Estate law Group's Session: • Real Estate in Dubai • Developer District One at Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum City International Litigation, A...

Law against money laundering, the financing of terrorism and corruption

Law No. 1.462 of 28 June 2018 reinforcing the anti-money laundering, financing of terrorism and corruption mechanism transposes the EU's Fourth Anti-Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism Directive[i] aligned with the revised FATF Recommendation...

Prevention of money laundering and financing of terrorism

Sovereign Order No. 7.065 of 26 July 2018 amending Sovereign Order No. 2.318 of 3 August 2009 amended, setting the conditions for application of Act No. 1.362 of 3 August 2009, amended by Act No. 1.462 of 28 June 2018 reinforcing the anti-money la...

 
amet, Praesent dolor ut elit. vel,

Droit immobilier et de la construction

Le cabinet GIACCARDI intervient tout au long des opérations de construction et au cours des différentes phases de la vie d’un bien immobilier, en particulier  :

• Montage du projet et financement

• Mise en place des contrats relatifs à la réalisation de l’immeuble

• Assistance concernant le traitement des difficultés survenues en cours de chantier

• Conseil et règlement des litiges relatifs à la copropriété

• Conseil et règlement des litiges relatifs aux baux, y compris les statuts particuliers des baux à usage de bureaux et des baux commerciaux

• Suivi des expertises judiciaires

• Contentieux en responsabilité devant les juridictions judiciaires et administratives

• Contentieux de la construction

 

Le droit immobilier et de la construction monégasque :

Le secteur de l’immobilier occupe une place particulièrement importante en Principauté et les biens immobiliers sont très recherchés. L’attractivité de Monaco et sa superficie restreinte sont deux facteurs qui influent sur le marché immobilier.

Les opérations immobilières sont nombreuses et les opérations de construction en constant développement, y compris l’extension en mer, projet d’urbanisation de 6 hectares en cours de réalisation.

Ces opérations, du fait de l’exiguïté du territoire et des contraintes géologiques spécifiques présentent une grande technicité. Dans ce contexte, une bonne connaissance des contraintes réglementaires et des difficultés géotechniques est indispensable.

Ne doivent pas non plus être négligées les prescriptions du Code de l’environnement créé par la Loi n° 1.456 du 12 décembre 2017, ainsi par exemple en matière de déclaration ou de demande d’autorisation d’urbanisme, de performance énergétique des bâtiments.

Par ailleurs, la Loi n° 1.446 du 12 juin 2017 relative à la préservation du patrimoine national a modifié l’Ordonnance-loi n° 674 du 3 novembre 1959 concernant l’urbanisme, la construction et la voirie. En cas de démolition d’éléments bâtis remarquables et d’altération d’éléments de paysage remarquables (insalubrité, grave désordre ou sinistre, opération d’aménagement dans le périmètre de laquelle figure l’immeuble), le propriétaire peut se voir imposer la reconstruction.

S’agissant du secteur locatif, contrairement à la France, les lois ayant vocation à s’appliquer en la matière sont beaucoup moins nombreuses. Une grande liberté contractuelle est donc permise, en principe, pour les biens dits du secteur libre.

En revanche, certaines contraintes s’imposent aux propriétaires de biens immobiliers du secteur protégé. Il s’agit d’appartements situés dans des immeubles construits avant le 1er septembre 1947 qui sont régis par la Loi n° 1.235 du 28 décembre 2000 (modifiée par la Loi n° 1.291 du 21 décembre 2004) et pour lesquels la marge de manœuvre contractuelle est considérablement réduite.

Le bail à usage de bureau créé par la Loi n° 1.433 du 8 novembre 2016, qui vise la location de locaux affectés à l’exercice d’une activité intellectuelle et administrative, est une spécificité monégasque. Son régime est autonome par rapport aux autres baux monégasques (bail commercial, industriel ou artisanal, bail locatif pour les habitations du secteur protégé ou pour les autres habitations relevant du droit commun).

 

Laurent
MICOL

Nos publications liées

Eurojuris International Congress 2018

18/21 octobre 2018 (Dubaï) Participation de Patricia KEMAYOU MENGUE. En savoir plus Session du Real Estate Law Group : • Immobilier à Dubaï • Zone de développement "Developer District One" à Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum City ...

Lutte contre le blanchiment, la corruption et le financement du terrorisme

La Loi n° 1.462 du 28 juin 2018 renforçant le dispositif de lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux, le financement du terrorisme et la corruption transpose la Quatrième Directive anti-blanchiment et financement du terrorisme de l’Union Europée...

Prévention du blanchiment et du financement du terrorisme

Ordonnance Souveraine n° 7.065 du 26 juillet 2018 portant modification de l'Ordonnance Souveraine n° 2.318 du 3 août 2009 fixant les conditions d'application de la loi n° 1.362 du 3 août 2009, modifiée, relative à la lutte contre le blanch...

Panorama législatif 2017

[Pour le Panorama réglementaire et international 2017, voir notre Newsletter #20] Sélection et présentation des principaux textes de lois de l’année 2017 Loi n° 1.446 du 12/06/2017 • Préservation du patrimoine national Loi n° 1.44...

Panorama législatif 2016

[Pour le Panorama réglementaire et international 2016, voir notre Newsletter #16.] Sélection et présentation des principaux textes de lois de l’année 2016 Loi n° 1.429 du 04/07/2016 – Télétravail salarié Loi n° 1.433 du 08/11/2016 ...

La consécration légale de la preuve électronique

Depuis 2002, le Gouvernement Princier envisageait d’adapter le droit monégasque en vue de faire face à l’évolution des nouveaux outils de communication et favoriser le développement du commerce électronique. L’objectif de la Loi 1.383 sur ...